FIH own goal rule. Our thoughts so far.
For those not aware the FIH has introduced a new rule where own goals can now be scored if any player from either team touches the ball in the circle and the ball enters the goal.
Sounds like a good idea or is it?
What we have seen so far is that goalkeepers have become more involved in the play as you have to protect the net from both teams now. So many more balls that would have previously been let go into the goal and played as a long corner are now having to be kept in play.
The down side is we have seen teams pounding the ball into the circle from all parts of the field hoping that maybe someone will touch the ball or the goalkeeper will make a mistake. The new rule seems to fly in the face of the current free hit within the 25 rule where the ball can’t be smashed directly into the circle.
Will be interesting to see where this goes in the future.
How has everyone found the change so far? Have you had many own goals scored?
PS: We have a new website at www.KeepaCoach.com .