Can you run out of the circle and kicker the ball?
I was just wondering if you can run out of the circle and kick the ball – as I got penalised for it last time and a penalty corner was awarded. Another thing, can a keeper be penalised for using the wrong side of his stick??? Lastly, can you give me any tips on penalty flicks please.
You do have to be careful about playing the ball out of the circle with anything but your stick. The penalty for kicking the ball out of the circle is a corner and could also be a card, either green or yellow depending on the umpire and the effect of the foul.
If you play the ball with the wrong side of your stick it is a foul. If the foul prevents a goal, the call is usually a stroke.
As far as strokes go, The biggest thing I would tell you is to give yourself a chance to save the ball. Too many keepers get freaked out on strokes and forget that it’s basically a flick from 7 yards. Make the shooter beat you. Unless you’ve seen the stroker before, know that he’s got a great stroke and know where he goes, react. A good stroke should go in. The biggest thing for a keeper to avoid is allowing bad strokes to go in. Bad strokes usually go in when you guess.